Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Worked some more in the hardware today. im trying to find an inverter so i can charge car batteries off some small solar panels i found and run a radio for some tunes. Or maybe a battery charger. or plug in a razor. god i would KILL for a good electric shave. i hate blade razors. my whiskers are tough and blades chop me up, hence i dont shave much. right now i look like a bear cub with all my fur but i dont mind.

the only thing i REALLY worry about is breaking my glasses. id never find another pair with my oddball scrip and the only spares i have are 10 years old from when i was in the army. it would suck to have to wear those again. i look like Ted Bundy when i do. My drill instructor used to call them "birth control glasses" because there is no way any chick would ever screw anybody wearing such ugly eyewear.

You may be askng why i dont just use the generator. well, its not in good shape and we dont use it much at all anymore. I think if we ran it for more than a few hours it would up and die entirely, so we just burn wood for heat and suffer through.

I wish i could get the water running agin though. Man that'd be nice. The toilet would work again. Maybe. It didnt work half the time when the water did run. There was a LNG explosion at the plant the day of the outbreak and im pretty sure it cut the main line and let all teh water from the tower drain back into the plant and into the river. we lost water pressure right away that day and it never came back. bummer. Most of the houses in town have frozen pipes anyway and if you turned the water onthey'd flood. i was smart enough to drain mine the first day after the power went off before everything froze.

Ah hell i should quit daydreaming. we aint ever gonna see running indoor water again. its back to privvies for quite some tiem id say. the good thing is we always got hot water for coffee going on the stove.

Coffee. theres another thing. Most of it thats left is stale and nasty. Its drinkable, barely. ive exhasuted every can of Red Bull i could find and even the monster and NOS are running out. I guess being a caffine junkie has its end as well.

No comments: